Depot in Minneapolis Print
- More Info
- By: Mark Herman
- Format: Lithographic print on acid free paper
- Usually ships in: 2 to 4 business days
History of the Depot: In 1864, the railroad was known as the Minnesota Central Railroad, but that was 35 years before the Milwaukee Depot was built. In 1867, the railroad name changed to the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Road, which was shorted to Milwaukee Road in 1874. The last train left the depot in 1971. It was at its peak in 1920.
Architecture of the Milwaukee Road Depot: The architect of the Renaissance Revival style building was Charles Frost. The building was built with white marble floors, enamel brick walls, and a paneled oak ceiling. It cost $200,000 to build.
From Depot to Commercial Development: The last train left in 1971, but the Milwaukee Road Depot still stands as a monument. In 1978 it was placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Twenty years later, the Minneapolis Community Development Agency sold the Depot to CSM Corporation, which turned the Depot into a complex with hotels, an indoor water park, a seasonal iceskating rink, a bar and restaurant, a banquet space and an interpretive history center.