Minnesota Historical Society

Privilege for Which We Struggled: Leaders of the Woman Suffrage Movement in Minnesota

$ 12.95


The twenty-five women profiled in this volume, as well as countless others from across the state, worked tirelessly for the right to do one thing—vote. It was the privilege for which they struggled. Their efforts were realized with the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution in 1920, allowing future generations to benefit from their inspiring work.

"Minnesota has a proud tradition of activism in behalf of women's rights. With this book . . . we can reclaim this heritage and pass it on to future generations. The stories of these women are stories we should all know." — Sara Evans, author of Born for Liberty : A History of Women in America

"The profiles of these courageous women will serve as models for young women everywhere. All of us want to know more about women's contributions in Minnesota. This book fills that need." — Joan Growe, former Minnesota Secretary of State


  • Edited by Heidi Bauer. Introduction by Barbara Stuhler.
  • Format: Paper, 176 pp., 5-1/2
  • Publisher: Upper Midwest Women’s History Center
  • Product ##: 9780914227106


Table of Contents to The Privilege for Which We Struggled:




Harriet Bishop
Mary Jackman Colburn
Jane Grey Swisshelm
Sarah Burger Stearns

Continuing the Struggle

Martha Rogers Ripley
Julia Bullard Nelson
Gratia Countryman
Emily Gilman Noyes
Ethel Edgerton Hurd
Maud Conkey Stockwell
Maria Sanford

Winning the Vote

Nanny Mattson Jaeger
Josephine Sarles Simpson
Fanny Fligelman Brin
Josephine Schain
Sarah Tarleton Colvin
Clara Hampson Ueland
Nellie Griswold Francis
Elizabeth Hunt Harrison
Anna Dickie Oleson
Bertha Berglin Moller

Victory and Beyond

Marguerite Milton Wells
Alice Ames Winter
Mabeth Hurd Paige
Myrtle Cain

Organizations leading to woman suffrage

You also Viewed

Join our Mailing List

Sign up to receive our daily email and get 50% off your first purchase.