Skip to product information
1 of 1

Birchbark House Series #1 - The Birchbark House

Birchbark House Series #1 - The Birchbark House

Regular price $ 9.99

Get 10% off with a membership

Regular price $ 6.99 Sale price $ 9.99

Get an additional 10% off with a membership

Sale Sold out

The story of a young Ojibwa girl living on an island in Lake Superior in 1847. Omakayas and her family live on the land her people call the Island of the Golden-Breasted Woodpecker. Although the chimookoman (white people) claim more and more of their land, life continues much as it always has. Every summer they build a new birchbark house; every fall they go to ricing camp to harvest and feast; they move to the cedar log house before the first snows arrive, and celebrate the end of the long winter at maple sugaring camp. Then one winter night, the satisfying rhythms of their life are shattered when a visitor comes to their lodge, bringing with him an invisible enemy that will change things forever. Age Range: 9 - 12 years, Grade level: 3-7

  • By: Louise Erdrich
  • Format: Paperback, 244 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Collins
  • Product ##: 978-0786814541

LOUISE ERDRICH is the author of many critically acclaimed and best-selling books. She is a member of the Turtle Mountain Band of Ojibwa and lives with her daughters in Minnesota.

Want to get updates about MNHS Press books, news, and events?
View full details